What Is Toyota’s Smallest SUV, and Is It Big Enough for a Family?

Toyota’s smallest SUV is not one fixed model worldwide. In the Philippines, the Raize is the smallest model in this comparison at 4,030 mm long; the UK Yaris Cross is 4,180 mm; and the U.S. Corolla Cross is 4,460 mm. A family of four can use any of them, but cargo needs, child-seat fit, and local trim details decide which one works.
What is the smallest Toyota SUV?
The Toyota Raize is the smallest SUV in this three-model comparison, but only where Toyota sells it. Toyota Motor Philippines lists it at 4,030 mm long, 1,710 mm wide, and 1,605 mm high.
That length is 150 mm shorter than the UK Yaris Cross and 430 mm shorter than the U.S. Corolla Cross. Small gaps on paper become useful gaps in tight parking spaces and short driveways.
The name on the tailgate is not the whole answer. Toyota’s published U.S. material describes Corolla Cross engines, drivetrains, trims, and prices for that market. It does not describe a global lineup. Check the Toyota site for the country where the vehicle will be registered.
| Model and market source | Length | Width | Height | Ground clearance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Raize, Philippines | 4,030 mm | 1,710 mm | 1,605 mm | 200 mm |
| Yaris Cross, UK | 4,180 mm | 1,765 mm | 1,595 mm | 170 mm |
| Corolla Cross, U.S. | 4,460 mm | 1,826 mm | Not stated in the supplied source | 8.0-8.1 inches, depending on version |
Size is a tool. Small is easy to place. Larger is easier to load.

Is a Toyota mini SUV big enough for a family of four?
Yes, a Toyota mini SUV can serve a family of four when the rear-seat layout and cargo load fit the family’s real routine. Seating capacity alone is not the test: the Raize and Corolla Cross are both specified for five, and all 2025 U.S. Corolla Cross grades have 60/40 split-fold rear seats.
The clearest cargo figures come from the Yaris Cross and Corolla Cross. Toyota UK quotes 397 litres behind the rear seats for the front-wheel-drive Yaris Cross and 320 litres for AWD-i. With the seats folded, those figures become 460 litres and 401 litres.
Toyota USA quotes up to 24.0 cubic feet in the front-wheel-drive gas Corolla Cross and 21.5 cubic feet in AWD gas and hybrid versions. The supplied Raize sheet lists 60:40 rear seats but gives no cargo-volume figure. Public data here does not establish whether a given stroller, travel cot, or set of weekend bags fits in its boot.
Bring the items that set the limit. A stroller with its wheels on, a typical grocery load, and the bags used for a short trip reveal more than a sales-floor glance.
Child seats need a separate check. The Raize sheet lists rear ISOFIX anchors on applicable variants. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety states that infant and toddler restraints can use seat belts or LATCH when installed correctly, and the restraint should move no more than 1 inch at the belt or LATCH path. Read the vehicle owner’s manual and the child-seat manual before treating any rear seat as a confirmed fit.
A car can have five belts and still be the wrong family car. The hard limit is the load carried every week.
What is the difference between the Toyota Raize, Yaris Cross, and Corolla Cross?
The Raize is the shortest and narrowest model here, the Yaris Cross sits between it and the Corolla Cross, and the Corolla Cross supplies the largest stated passenger and cargo figures. Their powertrains also differ by market.
The Philippine Raize uses either a 998 cc turbocharged three-cylinder rated at 98 PS and 140 Nm or a 1,198 cc three-cylinder rated at 88 PS and 113 Nm. Its 200 mm ground clearance is the highest metric figure in this comparison.
The UK Yaris Cross uses a 1.5-litre hybrid three-cylinder with 116 hp total system output. Toyota UK lists official combined WLTP economy from 54.3 to 64.1 mpg for front-wheel-drive grades, a 2,560 mm wheelbase, and 750 kg of braked towing capacity.
The U.S. Corolla Cross is the larger choice. Toyota lists 32.0 inches of rear legroom and 94.9 cubic feet of EPA passenger volume without a moonroof. Its gas model has a 2.0-litre engine rated at 169 hp and up to a manufacturer-estimated 32 mpg combined; the hybrid is rated at 196 net combined hp and a manufacturer-estimated 42 mpg combined.
For 2025, Toyota USA Newsroom says the gas Corolla Cross comes in front- or all-wheel drive, while the hybrid has electronic on-demand AWD as standard. It also states that every version has rear air vents and can tow up to 1,500 lb. Those details belong to the U.S. lineup, not to every Corolla Cross sold elsewhere.
The best choice follows the tightest constraint. Choose the Raize when vehicle length and clearance lead. Choose the Yaris Cross when its hybrid layout and quoted rear-seat-up load space fit the job. Choose the Corolla Cross when the larger cabin and stated cargo capacity matter more than compact dimensions.
Budget choices need clean boundaries. Health choices do too; evidence on a different household decision belongs in What Foods and Eating Patterns Help Manage Fatty Liver Disease?, not in a vehicle brochure.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which small Toyota SUV has the most cargo space?
Among the models with quoted cargo figures in these sources, the U.S.-market Corolla Cross has the largest figure: up to 24.0 cubic feet in front-wheel-drive gas versions. The UK Yaris Cross lists 397 litres with the rear seats up in front-wheel-drive form, while the Philippine Raize specification provided here does not state a cargo-volume figure.
Can I fit a rear-facing child seat in a Toyota mini SUV?
The Raize specification lists rear ISOFIX child-restraint anchors on applicable variants, but exterior dimensions do not prove a given rear-facing seat will fit behind a particular front passenger. IIHS says to use the child-seat manual and vehicle owner’s manual, then confirm the installed restraint moves no more than 1 inch side-to-side or front-to-back at the belt or LATCH path.
Why are Toyota's smallest SUVs different in different countries?
Toyota sells different lineups, engines, drivetrains, and trims by market. The research here shows a Philippine Raize, a UK Yaris Cross, and a U.S. Corolla Cross, while Toyota’s U.S. information also separates gas and hybrid Corolla Cross versions. The badge is local; the shopping process should be local too.